Perseverance and Purpose

I sat down to draft a blog post at 9:30pm. It is now 10:10pm. I have just written my first sentence.

40 minutes were spent browsing other blogs, comprehending, appreciating, empathising and most importantly respecting their self-discipline in continuing to update their blog regularly, for building up a growing readership, for having their thoughts published and read by people all around the world.

This is week 3 of me trying to build this blog into my weekly habits and already I’m feeling slightly winded. I was thinking about this before I restarted my blog efforts – what is the purpose of my blog? This question is reinforced when I browse blogs. Those that catch my attention are either about 1 topic, about 1 person’s unique situation and thus perspective on things, pictures or words that make me laugh or simply appreciate life.

What is my blog about? That was one of the questions I was supposed to think about before starting it and I thought I got it figured out. It would be about crazy stories pickled with amusing stories from my daily life. Right now it just feels like my rants and rambles.

Rants and rambles are plentiful enough on the internet but while they are passionately practiced by many budding writers, there are few who do it well and even less who get to their goal of publishing a book or becoming a professional writer. I don’t have the goal of publishing a book yet, but I do want to get better and more purposeful at writing.

So perhaps I have just reinstated the purpose of my blog. Worldwide recognition or not, pictures or not, wordy boring posts or not (hopefully not), I’m going to become more purposeful at writing one crazy story at a time.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

