Darn you Facebook!

I used to have a communal blog, with a group of friends close to my heart.
We shared our thoughts and organised our own little parties and stayed in touch beyond phone calls, emails and text messages.

Now they just post status updates and “events” on Facebook.

 

I used to share the most intimate conversations with friends from around the world, via a long “old-fashioned” email correspondence.
It made me feel so close to them. I really took the time to write them up and got so excited to read the long heartfelt responses. It felt like we still connected, despite the distance and I had someone I could pour out my sorrows and joys to.

Now when they post “I’m annoyed” on Facebook and receive 10 comments, I’m not so sure how to feel about that without much of a background story and random comments of “feel better soon”.

 

I used to have frequent catch-ups with friends to keep updated with all the new things in their lives. There was always so much excitement and buzz whenever they told a story for the first time.

Now we read everything first hand, from Facebook and in person, it just feels like I’ve heard it all before. 

 

Darn you Facebook for taking my place among my friends. They can now talk to you instead of me and I  get the trickles of information. It’s as if my social life has been taken to the virtual world and jumbled up with all the lives of everyone who has added me as a “friend” and thrown back at me as random “news feeds”.

I do enough reading at work thank you very much…

 

p/s: I’m not sure why but the word “communal” never feels very clean…

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

